Pregnant or Bust

The long road to conception, dealing with infertility

Steroids Schmeroids

5 Comments

I had my first steroid injection today. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought. They said it’d probably hurt to sit down for awhile, but really I haven’t felt anything. 

What DID hurt was getting stuck 4 times for my 3 hour glucose and throwing up 2 hours in. I was doing so well. It wasn’t effecting me like the 1 hour test did on Thursday when I felt nauseous and couldn’t concentrate. It’s just the fasting part of it. I know that’s what made me sick. I woke up at 4:30 this morning wanting to eat and my mouth dry as a bone. So chugging like 100 mg’s of flat orange pop loaded with sugar just didn’t jibe well. I got my 3rd blood draw done and went to sit in the exam room (they had called me back for my appt already) and sat up on the table. I started getting really hot all of a sudden, like sweating hot. I looked at my mom and said “I’m not going to make it, just 1 more hour and I’m not going to make it. I’m going to throw up.” She immediately jumped up and got the trash can for me and I just lost the whole flat orange soda crap. 2 nurses came in and were absolutely wonderful. 

Then the doctor came in. Now this is the doc that’s covering for mine while she’s out, he’s a regular part of the practice. He. Was. AMAZING. he was professional, yet friendly. He said since I was so far in to the test to go ahead and finish it and he wasn’t going to make me endure that again. He said more than likely I’ll just have to monitor my sugar levels for a week and adjust my diet, but since my numbers were so close it wouldn’t take much. He checked my (extremely short) cervix and thankfully I haven’t dilated! What’s that doctor? You actually have GOOD news for me this visit?? How wonderful!! So overall, it wasn’t an awful day. Just exhausting. 

Now my mom is here cleaning my apartment, love her heart. I feel bad about it, but she just started doing it. I couldn’t stop her. I have the best family. My mom in law is wanting to go grocery shopping for us, too. And Lexi (Alexis) is kicking the crap out of me today, daddy finally got to see! Every time he tries to feel her she quits. So I videoed a little to try and catch a kick and he finally saw. 🙂 

In daddy news, he’s been approved to take an exam to get into medic class next month (with the company paying for it). Right now he’s an EMT-B, so he mostly does transports, but some 911 calls. He’s just restricted as to what he can do and he has to have a medic with him. This is a huge step for him and I’m so proud! This also means he’s going to be switched over to the 911 side soon to accommodate for classes and get his ride times in. That will be a big adjustment for us. Right now he works 12 hour shifts 5 days a week, when he switches he’ll start 24 on 48 off. When he starts medic classes hell work 24, be off 24 and have class the following day. It’ll be good when Lexi comes because he’ll be here more to watch her and help, but it’s going to be a big adjustment.

Anywho, hope you all are doing well 🙂

Author: bhicks321

I'm 35 years young and I have 2 amazing kids with my wonderful husband. I have an awesome almost 10 year old step daughter. I'm not a doctor, or any kind of medical professional for that matter. My blog is to share the struggles of infertility issues that hundreds of thousands of women face, mommy issues that follow after and to hopefully bring a lighter side to them both - if that's even possible.

5 thoughts on “Steroids Schmeroids

  1. I’m so glad you had good doctors and nurses there to help you out. That drink sounds disgusting ugh. A gf of mine was diagnosed early with pregnancy diabetes and she didn’t have to do the drink, she was able to do it the same way as the doc said, by keeping a food diary and monitoring her sugar levels. But I think she had it for her first kid so they decided to test this way for her second too.
    Great news about the cervix! I guess that chat with the cheerleaders had a positive effect LOL. 🙂
    Sounds like your man is coming up to a LOT of work, but it is great and you both should be very proud 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 I am very proud of him. He works so hard, he deserves it. Plus it will really help out around here. The class is for like a year, but it’ll be worth it.
      This is the first doctor appointment in literally a month I didn’t want to cry afterward. This doc actually made my mom laugh (a feat only my brother and I can do usually). I’m not getting overly optimistic, because obviously my cervix is still super short, but I do have some hope we can make it a few more weeks!
      And yes, the drink was absolutely disgusting. I only had to drink a small portion of it last Thursday, but I had almost a full bottle today. Think of a really really bad sugar high and then you come crashing down.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alright cervix! Let’s keep up the good work here! Hoping time moves exceptionally fast for you and these weeks fly by and your sweet baby stays warm and toasty and baking away in there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment